top of page
Search

Passive Recovery vs Active Recovery

What is the difference between Passive Recovery and Active Recovery?


In an exercise sense, "Active recovery means staying physically active while you recover from higher intensity exercise by using gentle, non-strenuous movements. Walking between sets and gently cycling after a weights class are good examples. Passive recovery, in contrast, requires no movement at all. You simply let your body rest while you sit or lie down, for example."


And I think the same goes for our daily lives. Not just physically, but mentally, emotionally and spiritually as well.


We, as human beings, are all different. That's the beauty of this life. And I think we all try too hard to fit a generality instead of being true to individuality. So many lifestyles are taught by different people. Some experienced and acknowledged, some not. So how do we know what's best for us?

The short answer? we have to know ourselves. Yes, the good, the bad and even the ugly. Especially the ugly, really.


Let me share from personal experience.

Before I went on my mission, I was always relaxing. When I wasn't working, or hanging with friends, I would spend the days in my room, watching TV, playing games, or working on projects. But mostly TV and games. Lots and lots Passive Recovery, right?

Then I left for Arizona and spent the next two years working pretty much every second, always putting others before myself. Even though I have no regrets and I learned a lot, it took a toll on me after a while, but I wasn't exactly aware of what was happening. These two years changed my mindset to always Actively Recover. So when I got home, not only was I used to always being busy and productive all the time, but I was scared to go back to who I was before, because I had changed so much. But that also made me ignore parts of myself that were still very much me. Parts I needed to listen to.

Over the next several months I was always out and about and always traveling. It was really fun and I gained a lot. But I was also putting off a mental crash by doing things and pushing past the burnouts. So like I've shared before, I hit a breaking point, and I hit it hard. This may be very similar to my last blog, but I feel like this is important for you all to be aware of.


After all this, I've been working on getting to know myself and who I truly am. Not what anything or anyone else is telling me to be. And I'm definitely not a pro at it, but I'm a lot better than I was.

I've learned that after a work week, especially with an active career field, I need a lot of Passive Recovery, with a little but of Active Recovery. Whereas my wife needs more Active Recovery with a little bit of Passive Recovery.

We are all designed differently, and we need to understand and also be okay with what we personally need.

Now, the biggest enemy of Passive Recovery, is guilt. We feel like we aren't being productive and we won't accomplish that we desire. Can we please crush the mentality that the only option is Active Recovery and being productive? Can we allow ourselves mental resets and down time. Because if we're at the end of our battery, how can we expect to accomplish anything. You can't keep driving a car after the tank is empty. You HAVE to stop and fill it back up. Our minds are no different. If we push past the warning signs our body and mind are giving us, we will cause damage to our bodies, our minds and our wellbeing.

Both Passive and Active Recovery are important and healthy. And giving time for Passive Recovery IS IN FACT productive. Because you'll be able to work better.


So, ask yourself questions, listen to the signals you're receiving, experiment, and learn who you are and what you need, to be able to function at your best. Let's break the stigma that the only way to have value is to be "busy" and push past limits. Yes stretch yourself, but don't break yourself in the process. Don't be afraid to set boundaries based on what you know you need. Say no to others when you need to. Because then you can say yes to yourself.

If you're the person that can go and go and never get burnt out, then use that! If you're the person that needs extra sleep and rest on the weekends to be ready for the week, use that! We are all capable of greatness, but in our own way. We are all designed to succeed. But we're no good to anyone if we're at wits end constantly. And the worst thing ever can ever do is defy our own self by trying to fit a mold created by another. That's a crime. Murder of who you're meant to be. Use what's taught and the examples around you, and personalize it. And don't feel shameful or guilty for having different limits than someone else. Because that just means you have different strengths than they do.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page