top of page
Search

The One Word - Poem

Last night I took a drive far away.

I lost my mind somewhere along the way.

And found healing the very next day.

Would it be okay, today, if I just ran away?

Legs excluded I'd like to walk away.

See everyday I think I'm done feeling this way.

But then it comes again, like a toxic sin.

Demons screaming "let us in."

Heart pushing forward, mind caught on a single word.

That. One. Word. Could take me down.

Face smiling but mind has a frown.

I feel a phony, a freaked out clown.

Sensitive as a poet, numb as a long forgotten ghost town.

Its hard to explain, and I must say probably causes concern.

Not everyone understands, not even myself.

Truth is I'm a simple wreck, can't always help myself.

An organized mess with a fear of feeling useless.

I know what I share is dark, but there's no point in speaking if it's not from the heart.

I'm just a soul wandering, looking to fill my part.

Tired of unnecessary small talk.

Too focused on staying straight in my walk.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page